Cadet Fitness Assessment
94Header Small

CFA Header


CATO 14-18 (Main Document)
CATO 14-18 – ANX A
CATO 14-18 – ANX A1
CATO 14-18 – ANX A2
CATO 14-18 – ANX A3
CATO 14-18 – ANX A4
CATO 14-18 – ANX A5
CATO 14-18 – ANX B
CATO 14-18 – ANX B1
CATO 14-18 – ANX B2
CATO 14-18 – ANX B3
CATO 14-18 – ANX B4


One of the aims of the Canadian Cadet Movement is to promote physical fitness. At 94 Squadron, we old a Fitness or Sports Night at least once a month (see training schedule for full details).

A high standard of physical fitness is a requirement for many advanced training courses and exchanges.  To safely and effectively complete training, it is important that cadets be fit and healthy.  Before applying for certain courses and exchanges, cadets may be required to achieve a certain level on the Cadet Fitness Assessment. The Lord Strathcona Medal is also based on personal fitness, and requires Gold or Excellence in the Cadet Fitness Assessment.


Four levels may be achieved.  These include Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Excellence.  Criteria for each level differs according to age and gender. 

The CFA is composed of five evaluations, which are designed to evaluate cardiovascular fitness, muscular strength, and flexibility.  These tests include:

  • 20 meter shuttle run test (cardiovascular)
  • push-ups (muscular strength)
  • sit-ups             (muscular strength)
  • back saver sit and reach (flexibility)
  • shoulder stretch (flexibility)



The overall incentive level is based on the level achieved in each section. The lowest incentive level of the push-ups, sit-ups, back saver sit and reach, and the shoulder stretch is dropped.

The overall incentive level is based on the lowest of the remaining four.

The levels are based on age and gender, and are rated as Participated, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Excellence.